Press Releases


September 8, 2016

Arkansas Research Alliance Sees Growth ARA Scholars and Fellows Programs

Governor Asa Hutchinson joined the Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) today at the State Capitol building to announce two new ARA Scholars and two new ARA Fellows. And, in a first in the organization’s history, ARA awarded two of its fellowships to researchers from the U.S. Food & Drug Administration’s (FDA) National Center for Toxicological Research (NCTR) in Jefferson, Ark. Both ARA Scholars are on staff at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).

Read More
June 17, 2016

Bryan Barnhouse Joins Arkansas Research Alliance

Bryan Barnhouse recently joined Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) as vice president. Barnhouse will be based in Little Rock and will initially focus on the growing partnership between ARA and the federal laboratory, the National Center for Toxicological Research (NCTR) at Jefferson, Arkansas. He will also be actively involved with other ARA programs like the ARA Scholars and the ARA Fellows programs.

Read More
February 1, 2016

E-Z Mart CEO Sonja Hubbard to Lead Arkansas Research Alliance Board

Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA), an organization focused on strengthening economic opportunity in Arkansas by investing in university-based research, announced the appointment of Sonja Hubbard, CEO of E-Z Mart Stores Inc., as chairman of its board of trustees. Founded in Nashville, Ark., E-Z Mart is one of the largest, privately held convenience store chains in America. Hubbard, who has been involved with ARA since 2011, will provide leadership to the 22-member board made up of 17 Arkansas business executives and chancellors of the state’s five research universities.

Read More
December 10, 2015

Arkansas Research Alliance Expands Fellows Program

Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) announced five new ARA Fellows today during a press conference at the State Capitol building. In its second year, the Fellows program recognizes distinguished university research leaders who are already working in Arkansas at one of the state’s five research universities: Arkansas State University (A-State), University of Arkansas (UA), University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR), University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), and University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB). Fellows are nominated by the chancellor of their affiliated university and receive a $75,000 grant paid over three years.

Read More