Arkansas Research Alliance Names Daryl Brown to Board of Trustees

ARA welcomes MISO Executive Director to the Board

Conway, AR, April 3, 2020 – The Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) announced today that Daryl Brown, Executive Director, External Affairs South Region at Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO), has joined the ARA Board of Trustees. Mr. Brown, a graduate of Mississippi State University and a 17-year veteran of the Army National Guard and Army Reserve, begins his service immediately.

“With a consistent history of support for ARA, MISO has shown just how committed the company is to making research a priority in Arkansas,” says ARA President and CEO Jerry Adams. Brown replaces outgoing MISO Board Member Todd Hillman.

“I am honored to join my esteemed colleagues on the Arkansas Research Alliance board of trustees,” says Mr. Brown. “With a background in innovation, I passionately support the organization’s fundamental belief that research matters. I look forward to working with ARA.”

The ARA Board of Trustees is comprised of Arkansas business leaders and the chancellor from each of the state’s five major research universities. Mr. Brown is a recent addition to MISO’s executive team. Previously, Brown was the director of innovation for both Current powered by GE and Hitachi Social Innovation Business. In addition, he has more than 20 years of experience as an executive at Southern Company.


About Arkansas Research Alliance

Founded in 2008, Arkansas Research Alliance is dedicated to elevating a fundamental belief: Research Matters. Operating as a public-private partnership, ARA invests in research that stimulates innovation, encourages collaboration, and strengthens economic opportunity.


The Takeaways

  • Arkansas Research Alliance announces a new Board of Trustees member
  • Executive Director, External Affairs South Region at Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO)
  • The Arkansas Research Alliance Board of Trustees is comprised of many of the state’s high-profile corporate leaders and the chancellor from each of the state’s top research universities
  • Founded in 2008, Arkansas Research Alliance elevates the role of research in Arkansas and its impact on the state’s economy
  • Arkansas Research Alliance is led by former Acxiom executive Jerry Adams
  • The ARA Board of Trustees is comprised of 20 leaders from Arkansas’ business and academic communities:\

Sonja Yates Hubbard (Chairperson), Principal, The Yates Group

Robert Shoptaw (Treasurer), Retired CEO, Arkansas Blue Cross Blue Shield

Dr. Laurence Alexander, Chancellor, UA at Pine Bluff

Dr. Kelly Damphousse, Chancellor, Arkansas State University

Dr. Christina Drale, Chancellor (Interim), UA Little Rock

Dr. Cam Patterson, Chancellor, UAMS


(Board of Trustees cont. next page))





Dr. Joseph Steinmetz, Chancellor, University of Arkansas

Ritter Arnold, Executive VP External Affairs, E. Ritter & Co.

Daryl Brown, Executive Director, MISO

Andrew Clyde, President & CEO, Murphy USA Inc.

Ronnie Dedman, President, AT&T Arkansas

Laura R. Landreaux, President & CEO, Entergy Arkansas, Inc.

Gaylon Lawrence, The Lawrence Group

Drew May, Chief Client Officer, Acxiom

Tommy May, Chairman & CEO, Simmons First Foundation

Charles Nabholz, Chairman Emeritus, The Nabholz Group

David Peacock, President, Hytrol Conveyor Co.

Reynie Rutledge, President, First Security Bank

Dan Williams, Retired CEO, Garver

Michelle Wolfe, VP of Human Services, Walmart

If you would like to contact this core facility, please fill out the "Facility Contact Form" on the right of this page. This contact method helps ARA measure the success of the CFE in connecting potential collaborators and will flow directly to the core director’s email inbox.